Participatory Planning IV
+ team

Seetha Raghupathy

Seetha Raghupathy received her Bachelors in Architecture from Anna University, India and a Masters in Urban Design from Harvard University. She has worked for multinational firms including Skidmore Owings & Merrill LLP and RTKL Associates Inc., in the United States and also has research and work experience in India and South Africa. Her interests include affordable housing, planning and design for low-income settlements and the dynamics of transformation of Asian cities to Global cities. She is deeply committed to local/regional community design and a socially conscious practice. Raghupathy is currently a designer-in-residence at UCSB and is developing a planning road map and community network through a participatory planning process in order to address the multiple challenges facing the University adjacent community of Isla Vista.


Kim Yasuda

Department of Art at UC Santa Barbara and co-director of the system wide University of California Institute for Research in the Arts (UCIRA).  For the past 5 years, Yasuda has activated university teaching with her public arts research, developing initiatives that forge partnerships between academic environs and the local/regional communities in which they are situated, exploring potential intersections between a creative practice and community development.  Yasuda has collaborated with her students on off-site projects, including a public art plan for an affordable farm-worker housing complex in Oxnard, CA, the repurposing of shipping containers into mobile art studios and the recent public art project initiatives in the college community of Isla Vista, California.

Through these ‘open classroom’ field experiments, Yasuda established the Friday Academy, a temporary instructional environment within the university that maintains its own academic calendar and experimental curricula to conduct year-round, off-site and project-based learning within “an itinerant classroom setting”.  Straying from studio arts training models, the Friday Academy encourages “flexible programming in response to immediate social and environmental concerns, drawing from students, academics and community scholars to work together in situated partnerships”. Yasuda identifies this alternative field practice as “civic aesthetics” – a response to what she believes is a critical need to retool existing institutional learning structures toward a model of “anticipatory education” — one that prepares the 21st century practitioner with the creative skill set and nimble capacity to navigate the dynamics of an uncertain future.”

Yasuda has commissioned public works throughout California and has exhibited her installation work internationally at venues including the Art Gallery of Ontario, Canada; Camerawork, London; the New Museum of Contemporary Art, New York, The Whitney Museum of American Art, Connecticut and MIT List Visual Arts Center, Boston.  She is the recipient of two visual arts fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts.


John Peterson

Founding Director of Public Architecture , has served as external project advisor since 2006. The San Francisco-based non-profit advocates for the profession of architecture to work in the service of the public interest, acting as a catalyst for discourse through education, advocacy and the design of public spaces and amenities.


Institutional Support:

Henry Yang, Chancellor, UCSB

Gene Lucas, Executive Vice Chancellor, UCSB

Marc Fisher, Associate Vice Chancellor, Campus Design and Facilities, UCSB

Ron Betancourt, Lee Mudrick and Kimberly Tapia, Contracts Division, UCSB

Debbie Fleming, Yonie Harris and Don Lubach, Office of Student Life, UCSB

Charlene Chew-Ogi and Housing Services team, UCSB


Isla Vista Agencies:

Doreen Farr, Third District Supervisor, County of Santa Barbara

Esther Aguilera, Third District Supervisor’s Office

Brian Olmstead, Eric Raney and team, Isla Vista Foot Patrol (Sheriff’s Department)

Heather Allen and Jeff Lindgren, Isla Vista Redevelopment Agency


Stakeholders- community members:

Ellen Anderson

Alka Arora

Michael Bean

Catherine Boyer

Carolyn Buford

Clayton Carlson

Emily Cheney

Keith Clarke

Melissa Cohen

Becky Cohn

Diane Conn

Joe Dandero

Neil Dipaola

Robin Donaldson

John Doyle

Hiromi Dugan

Catherine Estrada

Samantha Fretwell

James Gelb

Craig Geyer

Mike Goodchild

Nancy Gottlieb

Chuck Haines

Kellie Hartl

Tylor Headrick

Susan Horne

Indy Hurt

Ian Kaminsky

Zaveeni Khan-Marcus

Chloe Kirk

Hilary Kleger

Rob Kooyman

Roger Lagerquist

Corilyn Lantz

Jennifer Lebell

Michael Lebell

Rachel Lindt

Monica Lopez

Viviana Marsano

Melanie Matson

Kate McCarthy

Patrick Melroy

Ryan A. Miller

Lu Ann Miller

Kris Miller-Fisher

Bruce Murdock

Brooke Neely

Harry Nelson

Mark Orfalea

Barbra Ortiz

Lindsey Quock

D.J. Palladino

Bob Potter

Elizabeth Robinson

Martin Raubal

Harry Reese

Sandra Reese

Tye Simpson

Stephanie Smith

Janet Stich

Barbara Torre

Nancy Vasquez

Lou Ventura

Ken Warfield

Dennis Whelan

Fried Wittman

Scott Wolfe

Beth Wynstra

Walter Yuen